AboutAcademicsAdmissionAthleticsArtsStudentsAlumniParentsNewsCalendarK–8Dare to Be True
Boys' Lacrosse

Boys' Lacrosse

Boys' Lacrosse
The Milton Academy lacrosse program enters its 45th season of competitive lacrosse in 2014, and its 29th as a member of the Independent School League (I.S.L.).

Traditionally Milton has competed against the I.S.L. member schools in addition to non-league opponents, including Moses Brown School (RI), Tabor Academy (MA), Philips Exeter Academy (MA) and Philips Andover Academy (MA).

The Milton Academy lacrosse program began under the coaching of former faculty member, and 1945 Saltonstall Prize recipient, Thomas G. Cleveland ‘45. Coach Cleveland, and captain (and current trustee) Og Hunnewell ’70, along with 3-year letter winner Rod Skinner '72, led M.A.’s first-ever lacrosse team in 1970. Coach Cleveland, and assistant G.C. Buell, quickly brought the Mustangs to prominence with winning records in ’72 & ’73.

Captain T.M. Chase ’77 led the way in the spring of 1977 as the Mustangs earned a 13-1 record to highlight a string of 9-years of winning seasons from 1976-1984. Coaches Cleveland and J.B. Barber worked together from 1974 through 1980 bringing Milton Academy lacrosse to prominence.

Derek Stolp took the reigns from Mr. Cleveland in 1982 and carried the Mustangs through 21 seasons of successful lacrosse, including 12-win seasons in '89 & '90, an 11-win season in ’91, and 10-win seasons in ’92 and ’93. The Mustangs, under Coach Stolp, won the I.S.L. title in 1989, building a 12-2 record, behind captains Jon Fitzgibbons (All-I.S.L.) & I.S.L. MVP and All-America Bill Hanson, who registered 43 goals and 37 assists during his senior campaign.

In his 21 seasons behind the helm Coach Stolp developed and coached numerous All-League & All-I.S.L. players, regional All-America selections (including Eric Churchill ’84, Ethan Burnes ’89, Bill Hanson ’89, and Owen P. Hughes Jr. '92), and Academic All-Americans (Michael A. Iovino ’96 & Tim Churchill ‘01 ). Coach Stolp amassed a total of 150 victories during his tenure.

George Dunnington and Tom Gagnon coached the Mustangs from 2003 through the '09 campaign. The team went 67-37 in those seven seasons of competition including one campaign as an undefeated and I.S.L. Champion in 2004.

Numerous Milton Academy lacrosse alumni have gone on to compete at Division I, II, III and CCLA schools over the last 10 years including:

Amherst College (Michael Greenberg ’06)
Bates College (Rory Baldini ’03)
Boston College (Michael O’Sullivan ’05, Matt O’Sullivan ’08)
Bowdoin College (Cullen Winkler ’05)
Colby College (Nick Hunnewell ’08, Sam Burke ’02)
Colorado College (Zach Pierce ’08)
Connecticut College (Alex Dey ’05),
Dartmouth College (Tim Daniels ’04, Tom Pilla '02)
Hamilton College (Andrew Dassori ’03, Sam Dudley ’04, Corbin Brown '07)
University of Michigan (Justin Gal ’00)
R.P.I. (Scott O’Leary ’10)
Skidmore College (Russell Dey ’01)
Trinity College (Zac Trudeau ’05, Brad Hunnewell ’05, David Huoppi ‘00)
Williams College (Rob Hawkins ’04)

Alumni News:

Nick Hunnewell ’08 is a senior midfielder and an elected captain of the Colby Mules' squad and a four-year varsity letter winner. Colby went 4-6 in the NESCAC in 2011.

Matt O’Sullivan ’08is a senior midfielder and captain of the Boston College Eagles’ MCLA / PCLL club lacrosse team in Chestnut Hill.

Zach Pierce '08, former Mustang captain and LSM, is a senior defender on the Div. III Colorado College mens' lacrosse team and one of the elected captains in 2012. The Tigers were League Champions last year at 7-0 and received an automatic bid to the Div. III National Tournament in 2011 as they finished 15-1.


1st Team Schedule