Select Page

10-01_hockey_1For the second straight year, Milton’s varsity hockey squad won the Tabor Tournament. On Saturday, January 2, Milton went head-to-head with Governor’s and Tilton in the tournament’s preliminary rounds, winning 6-3 and 4-1, respectively.

In the first round match-up against Governor’s, senior captain Chase Davis (two goals and one assist), senior assistant captain Jonathan Mleczko (one goal and one assist) and junior George Pantazopolous (one goal and one assist) led the attack while Sean Dougherty (II) saved 24 in Milton’s net to secure the win. Jonathan Mleczko shined once again on offense in the second round victory over Tilton with a goal and two assists while junior Dan Bowen turned back 20 shots in net.  Milton’s win over Tilton clinched a spot in Sunday’s finals where the Mustangs faced a strong St. Sebastian’s team.   

Milton came out strong in the championship game with three straight second period goals by Sean Okita (II), Woody Hudson (II) and Jonathan Mleczko, and added an empty-netter by Pat McNally (II) with 18 seconds to go in the final period. Milton’s defensive corps—comprised of Jake Turrin (II), Aaron Deutsch (II), Michael Megnia (I), Pat McNally and CJ Ganss (II)—held St. Seb’s to two goals, and the Mustangs skated away with a 4-2 victory and the coveted title of Tabor Tournament Champions.