Select Page

Following a tradition in 1983, Milton Academy annually chooses among students works the most outstanding examples of research and historical writing. Milton awards The Ethan Wyatt Bisbee Prize to students each June, and this year’s winners have explored topics from the black athlete in the 1936 Berlin Olympics to the influence of the 1800 election on American political science to a century of Chinese-American stereotypes. The winners include:

Molly Cohen
“Racing for Racial Equality: The Black Athlete and the 1936 Berlin Olympics”

Will Faulkner
“The U-2: America’s Risky Savior”

Lee Anne Filosa
“The Unattainable Compromise: The Clashing Cultures of the New England Colonists and Indians Leading up to King Philip’s War”

Julia Friedman
“Adolph Zukor and the Creation of Hollywood”

Jessalyn Gale
“Segregation in South Africa and the United States: Origins, Evolution and Legal Termination”

Hyunjin Kim
“Chinese American Stereotypes from 1850 to 1950”

Harry O’Hanley
“The Manhattan Project: Driven by Fear”

Stephanie Richards
“The Armory Show: Modern Art and America”

Rachel Schwerin
“A New Chapter in the History of Man: The Election of 1800 and Its Role in American Political Science”

Ben Stepner
“The Growth and Evolution of Jazz: From a Perceived Part of Black Culture into the American Art Form”

Sofia Warner
“The Cuban-American Dream”

Jason Yeager
“Native and African Americans: The Connections between Two Oppressed Peoples”