Select Page

IMG_9031Some of Milton’s best student writers and artists gathered with faculty and guests in Cox Library on Monday evening for the Laurence S. Persky Memorial Awards. The annual awards are given for the best work appearing in Milton Academy student publications and honors excellence in creative writing, journalism, art, photography, and production.

Guest speaker Matthew Stewart, author and philosopher, spoke to students about the writing craft and how it is important for writers to be avid readers. Emily Franklin, Milton alumna and author, was one of the judges and attended the event. Emily received a Persky Award as a student in 1990.

The Persky Awards were established to honor the memory of a Milton student writer who passed away just prior to his Class I year over 30 years ago. The Perskys attended this year’s event. Head of School Todd Bland did the honor of calling up the students individually and handing them their awards.


Honorable Mentions:

  • Malia Chung, for her poem “Digression.”
  • Sarah Hsu, for her fiction “A Reflection on Being Chinese When the Heart is Too Weak for Society.”
  • Wenqi Zhao, for her creative nonfiction “Stinky Food.”

Persky Award Winners:

  • Hana Widerman, for her poem “Confession”
  • Beck Kendig, for his story “Light Beyond”
  • Pierce Wilson, for his creative nonfiction “Unsaid”


Honorable Mentions:

  • Seth Gordon, for his sculpture “untitled.”
  • Margo Becker, for her photograph “untitled.”
  • Evelyn Cao, for her digital artwork “Together Alone.”
  • Parker Hitt, for their painting “Tati.”

Persky Award Winners:

  • Asia Chung, for her multi-media “Do You See What I See”
  • Erin Brady, for her painting “Baby Teeth”
  • Grace Li, for her still-life photography “untitled”
  • Ainsley Iwanicki, for her sculpture “untitled”
  • Lynn Yuan, for her digital artwork “Everyday Life”


Best Editorial: “IAs and Financial Accountability,” Pierce Wilson and Rishi Dhir, The Milton Paper

Best Commentary/National Topic: “Harvard’s Affirmative Action Lawsuit,” Josh Hwang, The Milton Measure

Best Commentary/Milton Topic: “Thoughts on JFC,” Malia Chung, The Milton Paper

Best News Story: “Community Voices: An Insight on Transitions,” Kendelle Grubbs and the Editorial Board, The Milton Paper

Best News Writing: Samantha Bateman, The Milton Measure

Best Feature: “Pervasive Sexism in Milton Athletics,” Natasha Roy and Charlotte Kane, The Milton Paper

Best Sports Writing/ Milton Topics: Josie Vogel, The Milton Measure

Best Sports Feature Writing: Katherine McDonough, “The Art of Scorigami” and “Chart Party and Pretty Good,” The Milton Paper

Best Arts Writing: Calvin Cheong, The Milton Paper

Best Movie Reviews: Nara Mohyeddin, The Milton Paper

Best Layout: Derek Cui, The Milton Measure