Select Page

Dighton Rehoboth Festival of Imagination Speech Tournament

speech01On October 27, Milton Academy speech students gathered with 313 high school participants from 17 area schools for the Dighton Rehoboth Festival of Imagination Speech Tournament. Overall, Milton garnered 16 awards, including Third Place Sweepstakes in the Large School category.

The following is the list of student award recipients:

Top Novice Awards:

Zoe Shleifer (Children’s Literature)

Emily Hong (Impromptu)

James Millington (Prose Reading)speech02

Individual Awards:

Children’s Literature: Zoe Shleifer (5th place)

Declamation: Miranda Paiz (5th place)

Dramatic Performance: Thea Chung (5th place)

Extemporaneous: Tony Wang (3rd place)

Novice Extemporaneous:

Ian Glick (1st place)

Neha Modak (2nd place)

Tyler Tjan (4th place)

speech03Original Oratory: Jana Amin (3rd place)

Program of Oral Interpretation: Emily Taylor (5th place)

Prose Reading: Talia Sherman (1st place)

Prose Reading: Abby Buonato (7th place)

Prose Reading: James Millington (5th place)

Gracia Burkill Speech Tournament

Natick High School on November 10, 2018
439 entries from 22 schools

The following is the list of student award recipients:

Humorous Interpretation: Lyndsey Mugford (1st Place)

Radio Broadcasting: Esteban Gutierrez (3rd Place)

Varsity Extemporaneous: Tony Wang (3rd Place)

Novice Extemporaneous:

Neha Modak (2nd Place and top novice in this event)

Tyler Tjan (3rd Place)

Novice Oral Interpretation:

Abby Buonato (4th Place)

James Millington (7th Place)

Prose: Talia Sherman (Semifinalist)

Qualified for the State Tournament

The following students qualified for the State Tournament scheduled for April 2019 based on results from MSDL tournaments thus far in fall 2018:

Esteban Gutierrez
Tony Wang
Jana Amin
Emily Hong
Talia Sherman
Miranda Paiz
Zoe Shleifer

Tournament of Champions

On November 17, 38 schools gathered at Henry W Grady High School in Atlanta, Georgia, to compete in a Tournament of Champions qualifying tournament. Finalists earned a bid to the National Tournament at the University of Kentucky in late April. Jana Amin and Maya Bokhari earned the first of two bids to TOC by placing 1st and 2nd, respectively, in Original Oratory. Tony Wang and Tim Colledge earned 1st place in Public Forum Debate while also attaining 1st and 2nd speaker awards. Tony and Tim secured 16/18 ballots during their seven rounds of debates.